My Memory of Wayne Static

Last Saturday, the metal community was rocked with the news of Wayne Static’s, singer of Static-X, sudden and tragic death. With the news came mourning fans and rockers.

Wayne Static will always remembered for his deep growls and his big hair that mesmerized many even outside of the metal community. Instead of writing about the tragedy of his death, I’ve decided to write about Wayne Static–from a fan’s perspective.

It starts with me playing a video game with my brother when I was younger and I heard the beginning chords of “The Only” from Need For Speed – Underground which was about 11 years ago. I didn’t know anything about metal then but I knew I loved what I heard because any chance I got to play the game I would always play the game just to hear that song.

Years went by and I started listening to metal but forgot about the song I heard until “I’m the One” was released in 2005 and I saw Wayne then I remembered “The Only”. Wayne fascinated me with his vocals and his hair. I was captivated by this man and the way the video was shot. I remember asking my mom for this album, called Start A War, and it was one of my first metal albums—I was 15 at the time so I guess a normal time to get into metal. I remember listening to this album non-stop. Besides Korn and Slipknot, I never got into metal but it’s safe to say Static-X helped me seek out harder bands. Start A War was on heavy rotation for me and it spoke to me as a teenager. I was angry for no reason but this album helped calmed down when I needed to be calmed down. Start A War was a start to metal for me. Static-X was that band for me.

Around two years later, I was one month away from graduating high school and Static-X released Cannibal. I fell in love with this band all over again with the song “Destroyer” which was released in March of 2007. I was fascinated once again by Wayne Static and his vocals. His vocals were what I lived for when I was younger. I remember being in a computer class I would play this game from the album where the band would try to make their way to the stage by eating the crowd. I loved it and I couldn’t stop playing the game.

When I was little, I’ll admit that I looked  up to the Backstreet Boys and Britney Spears because as a little girl I thought that’s how it was supposed to be but as I grew older, Wayne was someone I looked up to for his lyrics. I didn’t know about him personally. I didn’t know a thing about him but I didn’t need to. His lyrics were what I needed and sometimes I still do as a pick me up. I just needed to hear a song by him and I was good to go. To this day, I can remember every lyric to “Cold” and “The Only”. At times I can just have a Static-X song pop in my head and smile a little. His simple lyrics were just enough for me. I didn’t need anything complex because I felt he said enough in their songs.

Throughout my college years, I didn’t forget about him but I didn’t get get the last album he made with Static-X and I do regret that but I did listen to their earlier work for the days I would study for so long and I needed an escape.

To me, Wayne was my escape, hero and so much more because he and his band opened the doors more for more bands. I never got to thank him in person because I wasn’t lucky enough to meet him but I think now is a good time to thank the man that introduced a whole new world for me.

So rest in peace, Wayne. You’ll always be a huge part of my life musically.

 

One response to “My Memory of Wayne Static

  1. Pingback: Rana Nicole·

Leave a comment