Being An Older K-Pop Fan

I’ve seen Super Junior go into the military one by one. I watched BTS debut. I watched BigBang release their last album. I watched as 2NE1 disbanded slowly. I remember the day that Jessica Jung left Girls’ Generation as clear as day. I witnessed the debuts of Red Velvet, Twice and Blackpink. I’ll never forget when Exo released “Wolf”. I’m an older K-Pop fan.

My favorite groups aren’t releasing music consistently except for Super Junior. My favorite idols are becoming a thing of the past. BigBang has seemingly disbanded. Girls’ Generation are becoming Womans’ Generation. I’m an older K-Pop fan.

What does an older K-Pop fan do? You either drop the genre or you start listening to the newer groups. NewJeans, Ive, NCT, Stray Kids and so many more groups have replaced all of my favorite second generation groups. I could have been one of those “back in my day” K-Pop fans or I could embrace that I can still listen to my favorite groups and get into these newer groups.

Older K-Pop fans live off of nostalgia. They crave that moment when their favorite groups come back. They always tell K-Pop fans how everything was better in the past. The past. Well, times are changing. I listen to Le Sserafim, G-Idle and all the newer girl groups. I smile watching all of these young men and women become these superstars.

The joy I get when I see new K-Pop albums on the shelf in Target. My mall now has K-Pop albums in a store! I have the money I didn’t have when I was in college to now collect those albums. I collect every Twice and Le Sserafim album.

I’m an older K-Pop fan and I’m embracing the old and new groups. I’m excited to see what else is in store for K-Pop.

Leave a comment